NWHS student leadership team 2017

North Walsham High Unveils New Student Leadership Team

Posted on: 17th July 2017

North Walsham High School has announced the appointment of its student leadership team for the next year – following a rigorous ‘job interview’ style selection process.

The new head boy and head girl, their deputies and four lead senior prefects, will take a leading role in school affairs, as well as representing the school in the wider community.

Callum Brown and Megan Robson have been named as head boy and head girl respectively, with Nick Bishop and James Parsons selected as deputy head boys, and Charlotte Oakley and Lily Tansley chosen as deputy head girls.  Ellie Galasky, Paige Owens, Caitlin Pain and Hannah Vincent have been appointed lead senior prefects.

The ten were picked following a challenging selection process designed to mirror real-world job interviews.  Applicants for the posts, which were open to every member of the year group which became year 11 last month (and will be next year’s GSCE year), were required to make a presentation and undergo an interview.

Head teacher Neil Powell said, “Our student leadership team plays a prominent role in the life of the school.  This includes presentations at internal and external school events, helping to create initiatives such as our Expert Learners programme, and representing the school in the wider community.

“The process by which they were selected is rigorous, to ensure that we end up with a student leadership team which represents the very best of North Walsham High School’s student body.

“I congratulate all ten of them, and look forward to working with them over the coming 12 months.”

Back to all news stories

Recent Updates